Easterlicious Lemon & Chocolate Cupcakes

IMG_3964 wm

Easter is right around the corner, so I thought I´d share this easterlicious lemon buttercream cupcake recipe with you. If you remember the Double Trouble Chocolate Cupcakes, you`ll see that it´s the same basic recipe, only this time I`ve made it with a fresh, citrus frosting based on lemon curd. In Norway, yellow is the traditional colour of Easter, signifying brighter times are coming after a long winter. That`s why I found it suitable to make these delicious cupcakes into an Easter treat!

Easterlicious Lemon Buttercream Cupcakes

Ingredients
1.5 stick of butter (room temperature)
1 ¼ cup of sugar
3 eggs
3.5 oz. dark chocolate
4-5 tbsp. sour cream/yoghurt
2 cups of flour
8 oz. water (boiling)
2 tsp. baking powder
2 tbsp. cocoa

Instructions
Turn the oven on 390 F.
In a small bowl, add chocolate and cocoa. Heat up water and pour it over. Stir well, and make sure all of the chocolate is melted. Let cool off. Mix sugar and butter until it gets light and fluffy. Add one egg at a time. Add flour and baking powder. Mix gently. Now add the chocolate mixture and the sour cream /yoghurt. Mix gently.
Fill the cupcake tin about 2/3 in each. Bake in the oven for 13 minutes.

Lemon Curd
5 egg yolks
½ stick of butter
2/3 cup of sugar
½ cup of lemon juice (about 2 lemons)
Finely shredded lemon zest (from the 2 lemons)

Add egg yolks, melted butter, and sugar in a saucepan. Mix well and add the lemon juice. Now turn the heat on medium heat. Stir all the time for about 5 minutes. Now add the lemon zest, and turn up the heat just a bit. Now stir constantly for the next 10 minutes, until it thickens. Let it cool off before using in the buttercream.

Lemon Buttercream Frosting
2 sticks of butter
2 cups confectionary sugar
6-8 tbsp. milk
6-8 tbsp. lemon curd

Mix room temperature butter and the confectionary sugar until it gets really light and fluffy, then you add the milk. Mix well. Now, add the lemon curd and mix  gently. I think these cupcakes are beautiful as they are, so I didn`t use any sprinkles, but perhaps some lime zest could do the trick!

Are you making any special treats for Easter?

Follow on Bloglovin

Link up: House of Rose

16 thoughts on “Easterlicious Lemon & Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. I like that yellow signifies brighter times after a long winter.

    My extended family gets together each Easter and there is always enough food to feed an army. My contributions will include Chinese Chicken Salad (so not related to Easter, but it’s a family favorite) and a couple of desserts.

    These cupcakes look delicious.

  2. These sound so delicious! I’m adding it to my Pinterest recipe board. I don’t know if I’ll get around to making them before Easter, but sometime I’ll give them a try!

    • thanks, they`re pretty good. I think it makes a good combo, sour lemon vs sweet chocolate. Oooh, how great! I seriously need to get more into Pinterest.. I´ve made an account, but I never got into it, but I can see it`s a really great thing to have (and to know how to use). Well, that´s what`s so awesome about these, you can rename them all according to what season or theme you want them to be! 🙂 Summerlicious, Sunnylicious.. 🙂

    • Me too… Originally I tried to make all lemon cupcakes with a lemon curd filling… buuuuuut that didn´t turn out so good, so I made chocolate instead. But when summer comes along, I`m definitely going to try to make some all lemony cupcakes!

  3. Pingback: Where are you Spring? & Sunday Link | Memoirs of The Norwegian Girl

  4. Can you save the extra lemon curd? Freezing? I just made the cupcakes and they were very good. I will up the chocolate a bit next time, or use a different type, but the texture was perfect and just the right amount of lemon.

Leave a Reply

