No More Gym Expenses

mind-2-body-pilates-gym-inspiring-fitness-quotes-sayings-take-care-of-your-body-exercise-motivational-statements-famous-quotes

source

I want to take care of my body and my health, but I don`t want to waste money.  I`ve been scrutinizing my monthly budget to see where I could make more cuts, like I did with my cellphone plan, and from April 1st I´m cutting down on the gym expenses. I`ve experienced that exercise helps with the fibromyalgia, giving me more energy, and lessening the pain, which is probably why I have been so hesitant with quitting the gym.  I`ve been going to this relatively cheap gym for a year or so, but ever since August when I started Uni with an extra classload to finish up my BA faster, there really hasn`t been time enough to exercise.  But quitting the gym, doesn`t mean I have to stop exercising.

Here are my reasons for cutting out the gym membership:

1. Time Waste. It takes me 45 minutes each way to the gym. so of I want to spend 1 hour at the gym, the total time would be 2.5 hours! I just don`t have enough time to do this 3-4 times a week!

2. Cost. The gym costs $52 a month. Not a very big expense, but when you`re living on $1260 a month, an extra $52 could really help! Per year, I would save $624! The money I`ll be saving will go directly to my savings account!

3. Spending time Outside. I spend most my days inside, so I want to be more outside, getting fresh air and vitamin D from the sun.

4. Exercising at Home. One of the great things with the internett is all the information you can get. So I`m going to exercise at home by doing simple exercises with the help of  a yoga mat and a weighted hula hoop. And it´s free!

What do you do? Go to a gym? Exercise at home? do you have some good ideas for working out at home?

Follow on Bloglovin

45 thoughts on “No More Gym Expenses

    • Good for you. I hate to know that I´m wasting money for each day that I`m not in the gym. I like to get the most out of every kind of purchase, so I tend to calculate how much a gym visit cost me if I went there so and so many times. And it could`ve been ok if I went there all the time, but when I have problems with getting time just 2 times a week, it starts getting too expensive!

  1. Most of my exercises are done in the gym but that’s because I like strength training and lifting heavy weights.
    There are lots of body weight exercises that you can do in your own home though without any special equipment.

    Push Ups, Burpees, Squat Jumps, Jumping Lunges, Plank, Tricep Dips (off a chair), Mountain Climbers, Jumping Rope, Box Jumps (if you have something sturdy to jump onto), and you can practice some Olympic lifting techniques (cleans, jerks, snatches, overhead squats, etc) with a broomstick.

  2. I have the same excuses for why I quit the gym. I can run for hours (well, used to) outside, but inside? I can only stand 10 minutes on the treadmill.

    I normally run outside or in the summer play tennis, and do my own yoga and weights with a video at home.

  3. You’ll save so much!! Good call. I’m fortunate because the company I work for has an onsite gym that I can use free of charge. Of course, I still don’t make it as often as I should! But it saves me from feeling like I need to pay for a gym membership. I also will occasionally buy Groupon or Living Social deals that offer 20 classes for $20 at various yoga studios and gyms around town. Those are a good deal.

    • I know! And then I start thinking about what else I could use that money for, which is so much more exciting than continuing to pay for something I don`t use. You`re really lucky to have that possibility!

  4. I used to LOVE my expensive gym, but at 110/month, I just could not afford it, so I haven’t belonged to a gym in just about a year. I’ve adjusted nicely, although I do live in sunny california so it’s easier to get outside. I also use an app called Nike Training Club at home. It’s awesome!

  5. Wow, $52 a month really would add up! You can definitely get a good workout at home. I recommend YouTube videos! I don’t know what type of exercise you like, but I know there are yoga, Pilates, and other types of free workout videos out there… it just takes a little bit of searching! Plus, when the weather warms up, you can always go outside (like you mentioned) ! Woo hoo!

  6. I’ve never belonged to a gym. I just know that if I had to make the extra time and effort to actually go somewhere it would never happen! I enjoy Youtube videos, but I also keep a yoga mat and some hand and ankle weights near the TV so all I have to do is roll off the couch and onto the floor, which is a distance I can handle! 🙂

    I also have an exercise bike and a Nordic Track in my basement. I got both at the thrift store for about $20 each. Seriously, the thrift store is where all good intentions go to die, so you can find great deals on exercise equipment.

    I’m also a big fan of biking and walking. And weather is really not a problem. When I lived in Trondheim I rode my bike to school all winter long! I also enjoyed getting around on the spark in the winter. I find that if I use my feet and bike for transportation as much as possible, my life has a certain amount of exercise built in by default. It also makes chores like going to the store into fun activities.

      • I was an exchange student. Rod Russ 86!! I used to be able to snakke Norsk pretty well, but after nearly 30 years of not speaking any Norwegian, I fear my skills have deteriorated significantly! What part of Norway are you in?

      • Så kult! Now I understand why you once wrote Klem (hug)! 🙂
        I was a Rød Russ 2007 (in Spain actually, but that`s a story for another time)! How great that you know about Russefeiring (celebration)! I bet that your language skills are still somewhere in your memory, it`s just difficult to relocate! I´m in Oslo, but I`m actually from the Lofoten area. Ønsker deg en riktig god Påske!

      • You lived in Spain? I’m jealous! That’s on my list of places I’d like to visit one day. ¿Hablas español? I’ve studied Spanish since I was about 12 years old, and one of my biggest challenges living in Norway was that if I didn’t know the Norwegian word, my brain would just subconsciously stick in the Spanish word instead! Sort of like my brain had one section for English and one for all other foreign languages lumped together. I had to train myself out of the habit so that there was some chance people might understand me! 🙂

        I never got to travel further north when I was in Norway, although I did have a good friend who was from Mosjøen. Did you live on one of those islands that’s only accessible by boat? As and exchange student I was in the Musikklinja so there were students in my class from all over the region. One of my classmates was from a small island and had to take a boat to get home. I’m from Colorado, which is totally land-locked, so the idea of living with the ocean as a part of your day to day life totally fascinates me.

        Ha det riktig bra, og god Påske til deg også!

  7. I love my gym, but I also use the one close to work so I can run and shower before going in. I agree a 90-minute commute in addition to exercising is an inefficient use of your time, though! If I work out at home, I’m a fan of calisthenics like push-ups, lunges, planks, etc.

  8. I used to think the gym was necessary to workout good, but it isn’t true! I think walking or running outside gives you a much better workout since roads are uneven, and the treadmill isn’t doing some of the work for you.

    I never thought I would like workout DVD’s, but Jillian Michael’s “30 day shred” is awesome. All of her DVD’s are really good, and get you into shape quickly. They work all your muscles. I do agree with the other poster, a kettle bar and maybe jump rope can get you a pretty good workout.

    • I agree. I live close by a big forrest, or forrest sounds too small. it`s like a national park, without being called that.:-P with a lot of tracks for people use, so I really need to be using that opportunity more!
      I checked out the 30 day shred video, found it on Youtube, and it looks like something I could do.

  9. I’m lucky to have a gym membership as part of my uni tuition – so I do go there. I’m lucky to live a short walk away from campus, and even my placement is just up the street as well. For the days that I can’t make it to the gym, I just try to walk to do errands, or do some yoga at home, I also have a few free weights at home to do strengthening exercises. Once I am done school in the spring I will probably just do exercise at home and walk/run/bike instead!

  10. I’ve worked out at home for probably the past 9 years and I can’t tell you how much I miss going to the gym. Excising at home is okay. But there is something very motivating about being at a real gym with other people that you don’t really notice is gone until you stop going there.

  11. If you’re into fitness videos, there are a lot of video podcasts of different fitness programs. I downloaded a bunch of yoga video podcasts before a vacation last year so that I could keep up my stretching and yoga practice even without my normal yogi =)

  12. It definitely doesn’t make sense to go to the gym if your commute is 45 min each way. Its really hard for me to get motivated through dvds and working out with just one another person. I enjoy the gym atmosphere seeing other people push themselves and the camraderie in group exercise classes. I guess I should also mention that I teach fitness classes part time, so I’m biased. 😉

    I do understand that gym memberships are expensive and you need to be committed in order for the membership to be worth it. They’re not meant for everyone. Good luck with your home workouts!

  13. We cut our gym membership about a year ago for the same budgetary reasons. Since then, I’ve lost 14lbs 🙂 You can definitely stay motivated and be successful working out at home! There’s tons of great DVDs and online workouts available, not to mention fitness magazines that aren’t too expensive. I highly recommend getting some accountability, like finding a walking buddy or yoga buddy, or someone to text you in the morning to remind you to workout, or to follow up with you. That will help you stay motivated and make time for it. Plus, working out with someone else, even long distance, makes it much more fun!

    • Wow, 14lbs without a gym? that`s awesome! I want to lose 2-3lbs before summer, I have a dress I want to get into ;-), so I guess that could actually be doable! I´ve been searching on youtube, and I´ve found a couple of videos that looks promising. Hmm.. that`s a good idea, but I`m not sure who that could be, other than BF.. Oh well, I guess I´ll figure out something!

  14. I’ve been working out at home. Some of my favorite workouts are Bodyrock, Zuska Light and Bekafit all of which can be found on youtube. And now that it is warming up, I’ll be doing yoga outdoors and running as well.

    • oh thanks for the vid-ideas! Definitely going to check them out! 🙂 ah yes, I can`t wait for it to get all springy outside so I can go for runs without being afraid of breaking my neck on slippery ice!

  15. Pingback: Where are you Spring? & Sunday Link | Memoirs of The Norwegian Girl

  16. I really like to lift weights so just this last year we got a gym membership. Our gym is only $10/month and a few minutes away, though. It’s really simple with none of the “extras” (classes, pool, childcare, etc). But it works for us. Before we had the gym membership, though, I would cycle through exercise videos and just working out at home. They worked REALLY well! It was just a matter of being in a routine to make sure that I actually did them. One of my favorite work out videos is really a “toning” video (not a lot of cardio), but it’s super fun. It’s the “Tank Top Arms, Bikini Belly, Boy Shorts Bottom” dvd. And of course anything by Jillian Michaels is killer, but great. 🙂

  17. Pingback: Carnival of financial independence 5

  18. What s about dance?! And with group of people it is always more fun and chance to find a new friends. As a dance teacher I believe you will enjoy dancing or pilates workout.

Leave a Reply

