Homemade Sourdough Bread

IMG_4017 wm

I`ve been baking ever since I was a small child, eager to learn new things from my mom whenever she was making something in the kitchen, and I`ve made everything from pita, nan, cinnamon rolls, sandwich bread, whole wheat bread, you name it. But what I`ve never dared going into is sourdough. Somehow this idea of making your own “yeast” frightened me. But not anymore!

A couple of weeks ago I finally confronted my fears and decided to start making a sourdough starter, which after 8 days of flour feeding, was finally ready to try to make some bread. I decided that I wanted a big, round and flatter sourdougbread to use for soups, salads and so on. And boy did it taste good!

Ingredients:
1 Cup sourdough
2.5 cups of water
1 cup whole wheat flour (nicely ground)
4.5 cups of flour
2 tsp. salt

Instructions:

Mix the sourdough with 2 cups of water, until it`s resolved in the liquid. Pour the remaining liquid and add the dry ingredients and mix gently. Let rest for 15 min.

Now you have two choices, you can either take the dough onto the kitchen counter and knead the dough by hand, or let the machine do the work. I have a really bad wrist, so I let my dear friend Kenwood Major do the work for me! You`ll need to add some more flour than mentioned in the ingredients, as the dough should be nice and firm before you let it rest to double in size.

Cover the dough and preferably let it sit over night, this way you make sure that the dough gets enough time to double in size. Sidenote: Sourdoughs raises very slowly!

The next morning you take the dough out on the kitchen counter and start kneeding it gently. Sourdoughs have a different kind of texture than regular yeast-doughs, so don`t worry if it feels different from what you`re used to.

After you`ve knead it gently, you either cut the dough in half, and shape each into a bread form shape and put them into bread pan, OR you can do as I did, just shape it into a big round piece and put it directly on the baking tray, preferably covered by baking paper or similar to prevent it getting stuck.

Let it rest for 3-4 hours on the counter, or turn the lights on the oven, and let it rest inside the oven on really, really low heat for 1 hour.

Take it out of the oven, and preheat the oven to 455ºF.

Bake it in the oven for 25-30 min and then let it rest and cool down. Bon Appetite!

IMG_4020 wm

You can find my recipe for the sourdough starter here

Today I`m linking up with  Inspire Me Please!

Follow on Bloglovin

11 thoughts on “Homemade Sourdough Bread

  1. It looks great! I’m excited to see your recipe for the sourdough starter! I made breads like this with my mom a couple of times when I was at home and then I had a roommate at university who loved making bread like this so I would help her. I haven’t done it since then, though. I should definitely try it again! 🙂

    • Thanks! I think this bread is just perfect for dinners and such. Had it to a chicken salad and a tomato soup this week, and it was just the perfect side dish! I posted the starter recipe today, so make sure to check it out! 🙂
      You should definitely try it!

  2. Pingback: Carnival of financial independence

  3. Pingback: Whole Wheat Sourdough Starter | Memoirs of The Norwegian Girl

  4. Pingback: Preparing for St.Patrick & Saturday Link | Memoirs of The Norwegian Girl

Leave a Reply

